Administration & Department Information

 

Mission Statement

Orangeburg Preparatory Schools, Inc. seeks to provide a quality education which prepares students to meet the academic demands of college and to lead productive and fulfilling lives in a complex world.

 

Accreditation

Orangeburg Preparatory Schools, Inc. if fully accredited by AdvancED and the South Carolina Independent Schools Association (SCISA). Orangeburg Preparatory Schools, Inc. was chartered on December 31, 1984, as a non-profit corporation and has qualified as a tax-exempt organization under I.R.C. Section 501(c)3. The school admits students of any race, color, and national or ethnic origin.

 

Faculty

Orangeburg Prep faculty members are chosen based on demonstrated excellence within their field of study, a strong commitment to education, and a caring attitude toward children. Teachers meet the accreditation standards of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and the South Carolina Independent School Association. Most teachers hold advanced degrees and continue their education through seminars and professional memberships. The teacher-to-student ratio is 1:16.

 

 

 

Administration
Evan Powell epowell@orangeburgprep.com Head of School Masters in Education Charleston Southern University
LaDan Brown lbrown@orangeburgprep.com Assistant Head of School Curriculum Coordinator BA Math / Columbia College
Rosemary McGee rmcgee@orangeburgprep.com Lower Campus Administrator BA Elementary Education Columbia College
Taylor Riley

triley@orangeburgprep.com

Guidance Counselor BA Biology / College of Charleston
Jan Stoudenmire

jstoudenmire@orangeburgprep.com

Athletic Director BS / Limestone

.

 

Faculty Department Heads
Mrs. LaDan Brownlbrown@orangeburgprep.com Math Department Head BS Mathematics / Columbia College
Mrs. Libby Ray lray@orangeburgprep.com Science Department Head BS/University of South Carolina
Dr. Mark Van Gunten mvangunten@orangeburgprep.com English Department Head BA,MA,PHD/Bowling Green State University
Mrs. Barbara Askins baskins@orangeburgprep.com Social Studies Department Head BA/University of South Carolina
Jay Hutto jhutto@orangeburgprep.com Foreign Language Department Head BA French/University of South Carolina
Alex Reid areid@orangeburgprep.com Computer Department Head  
Sherri Sullivan ssullivan@orangeburgprep.com Fine Arts Department Head MA/Wake Forest
Jan Stoudenmire jstoudenmire@orangeburgprep.com Physical Education Department Head BS/Limestone

 

 

Mr. L.R. Connor

Mr. Connor was employed at Orangeburg Prep since 1975. He served as Administrator at the Lower Campus until he suffered a stroke in the early Spring of 2000. He had planned to retire in May, 2000. He was a patient at Life Care of Columbia on Faraway Lane. Mr. Connor passed away on December 19, 2008. If you would like more information, please contact Ms. Blackstone, Mr. Connor's sister, at (803)787-2578.